Skip to content

26 years and 26 goals

December 5, 2011

Yep, I have been on this earth for 26 years. I can’t help but focus on the fact that I am now closer to 30 than 20 and I have A LOT I want to accomplish before the big 3-0 hits. Looking ahead to these next 12 months I put together a list (in no particular order) of 26 goals that I would like to accomplish before I turn 27.

1. Edition and self-publish my first photobook (January 2012 is the goal)
2. Stock and open my shop – FINALLY
3. Explore San Francisco, CA (trip pending)
4. Explore Portland, OR
5. Visit my aunt in Fort Worth/Dallas, TX (trip pending)
6. Try a new food
7. Try a new drink
8. Pay off my credit cards (dream big!)
9. Learn to *comfortably* walk in heels
10. Take a beginners poetry class
11. Take a yoga class
12. Take a spinning class
13. Get a massage (I was given a gift certificate for a 60 min massage for my b-day!)
14. Organize my books
15. Be a guest-writer on one of my fave blogs
16. Have my writing published (in print)
17. Adopt a puppy
18. Move into a 1-bedroom apartment (tired of the studio scene)
19. Earn my MFA (December 2012 is the goal)
20. Teach a class
21. Get a new tattoo
22. Learn to cook
23. Apply to an exhibition
24. Apply to a portfolio review
25. Apply to a photography competition
26. Re-design my website (and this blog!)

OK, let’s see how the next 12 months treat me! The last 12 were pretty fantastic.


image from the BOOK COLLECTION by Paul Octavious
birthday list idea inspired by A Beautiful Mess

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 7:37 pm

    Congrats Megan,

    I am Impressed by your list of goals and obviously with such passion ‘The Best is Yet to Come!’

    Best Christina

  2. December 6, 2011 5:55 am

    26 ? Wow, it is a magical number ! Congratulations ! And your list is impressive but I’m sure you’ll manage it! Brava!
    robert
    PS: yes, the over …5 is always a little traumatic because you’ll realize it! Don’t worry, it happens only each ten years…

  3. December 9, 2011 1:35 am

    Great goals! I was drawn here by the fantastic photo you started the post with, but I enjoyed your list as well. : ) Best of luck realizing each of these in the next year!

Trackbacks

  1. 2011 | Megan Charland | blog

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

