Form: Data: Form #8

Earlier tonight I went to the opening of Scapes at Rochester Contemporary Art Center and made sure to arrive in time to view the performance of Form: Data: Form #8 by Jason Bernagozzi.

I’m not gonna lie, it took me a few minutes to figure out what was going on! First, I thought there was a problem with the A/V because I couldn’t understand what he was saying and then it clicked – I’m not supposed to. Then, I didn’t realize that it was a camera in his hand until I read the artist statement. If you’ve been following this blog you’ll know that my experience with video art is rather limited (however growing) and I have a lot of “ignorant” moments. I uploaded a couple of short unedited video clips (one and two) for you to view to get a better sense of the photos above.

Form: Data: Form is a series of real-time high definition video performances that investigate the thin line between representation and interpretation in the digital realm. By using custom-made software, Bernagozzi abstracts the live video image of his body and surrounding artifacts, separating the lines of video into a flowing topographical landscape. The dialogue that unfolds between signal and data reflects the ongoing negotiation people have to their surroundings, their sense of language, and ability to understand change over time. The newest iteration of Form: Data: Form #8, will explore the tension between visual, written and spoken language…” [more]

I plan on posting about the rest of the exhibition early next week. I want to go back and take some more installation shots when there aren’t so many people around. So, check back soon!

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

One thought on “Form: Data: Form #8”

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

