BMW Guggenheim Lab – NYC

This past Friday while I was in NYC I made sure to check out the BMW Guggenheim Lab and I’m so glad I did! It was really fun to see Urbanology being conducted LIVE and all of the staff were extremely friendly and enthusiastic.

“The BMW Guggenheim Lab is a mobile laboratory traveling to nine major cities worldwide over six years. Led by international, interdisciplinary teams of researchers in the areas of urbanism, architecture, art, design, science, technology, education, and sustainability, the Lab addresses issues of contemporary urban life with the goal of exploring new ideas, developing experiments, and ultimately the creation of forward-thinking solutions for city life.

The theme of the Lab’s first two-year cycle is Confronting Comfort – exploring notions of individual and collective comfort and the urgent need for environmental and social responsibility. Part urban think tank, part community center and public gathering space, the Lab is conceived to inspire public discourse in cities around the world and through the Lab’s website and online social communities.”

While I was at the lab I attended Live Feeds FeedForward 9: Producing Empathic Fields by spurse (which I am currently writing a separate post about so check back later this week).

There was a really great collaborative energy in the space and I instantly thought of the Re: PLANT room right here in ROC. I find myself becoming more and more interested in collaborative opportunities in the community. I can’t wait to share with you my experience with spurse!

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

1 thought on “BMW Guggenheim Lab – NYC”

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

