fill in the blank: _______________

Wow. This project, Before I Die, by Candy Chang is so great.

“It’s easy to get caught up in the day-to-day and forget what really matters to you. With help from friends and neighbors, I turned the side of an abandoned house in my neighborhood into a giant chalkboard to invite people to share what is important to them. Before I Die transforms a neglected space into a constructive one where we can learn the hopes and aspirations of the people around us. It’s a question that changed me over the last year after I lost someone I loved very much. I also believe the design of our public spaces can better reflect what’s important to us as residents and as human beings. The responses and stories from passersby while we were installing it have already hit me hard in the heart.” [more]

I have friends and family that have “bucket lists” and I have never really made one before. I barely come up with my goals every New Years Eve! Truth is, there are a million things I want to do before I die. Millions. The thought of having to prioritize them in order to make a realistic list is just downright depressing. So, I live day-to-day with my un-realistic list of goals in the back of my mind. I’m OK with that.

Be sure to head over to Chang’s website to view more photos from this project. Also, and I realize this is old news, there is an interesting interview with Candy Chang over on the Juxtapoz Magazine website. I don’t know how I didn’t see this back in April. My bad.

So, what about you? Can you fill in the blank?


Images via Candy Chang’s website.
All photos by Civic Center.
As seen on DLF.

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

