Skip to content

Amy Greenan

August 23, 2011

While I was installing/de-installing at WNYBAC a couple of weeks ago I checked out the exhibition A Sense of Place with work by Amy Greenan and Elizabeth Leader. It shouldn’t come to any surprise that I was attracted to Amy Greenan’s work.

“The house paintings have been my primary focus since early 2009, when on a whim I decided that I wanted to break away from the figure for a while. I’d been particularly attracted to this one abandoned house—the Green House, as I usually refer to it—I saw driving out to see my mother. One day, I took some photos of it, and then used those photos as a loose guide to creating the first of what ended up a long series of works.

Having grown up in what was an abandoned house when my parents purchased it, I find an irresistible affinity to these lost architectural souls. I realized, too, that the similarities between these houses and the human body and experience cannot be ignored. These places have a history in the same way we do. Memories are attached; they crumble in the same way the human body eventually does. They evoke all sorts of emotions and thoughts in me. When I paint each one, I can’t help but sense that I am bringing it a bit of its life back.” -from Greenan’s website

I’m always interested in seeing/reading about how other artists use the house shape in their work. I have put Chronic Disconnect on hold and have started thinking about Land [ab]Use again. More on that soon!

Anyways, the show is up through September 17th so if you’re in the Buffalo, NY area you should check it out!

No comments yet

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

