Skip to content

Videosphere: A New Generation

August 4, 2011

While I was at Albright-Knox last week, I was excited to check out the exhibition Videosphere: A New Generation. I was really impressed with just how drastically the space upstairs was transformed. Over the last year, my “tolerance level” for video art has increased greatly. I know that sounds odd, maybe even ignorant, but there used to be a time I would just walk right by a video piece in a gallery because I just wasn’t interested. Since taking a video class last year during my first semester of graduate school I have started working on my own videos and have gained an appreciation for the medium. I plan on putting together a few posts specifically talking about a few of my favorite pieces from Videosphere, so stay tuned!

For more information, check out the exhibition website and participating artist list. I didn’t photograph all of the rooms/videos so you’ll have to go see it for yourself! Videosphere: A New Generation is on view through Sunday, October 9, 2011


from top to bottom: title wall, Junk (2003) by Tony Oursler, Green Horses (1988) by Bruce Nauman, Western Union: Small Boats (2007) by Isaac Julien, Extruded Video Engine #5 (2007) by Peter Sarkisian, Twilight Avenger (2008) by Kelly Richardson, and Provisory Object 01 (1997), Provisory Object 02 (2000), and Provisory Object 03 (2004) by Edith Dekyndt.

No comments yet

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

