Visual Language

This weekend Sarah and I attended Jason Fulford’s workshop VISUAL LANGUAGE: HOW PICTURES SPEAK TO EACH OTHER at Visual Studies Workshop and it was an amazing experience. It was the most organized and hands-on workshop I have ever been to and it has left me with a lot to think about.

Yesterday we did a ton of visual exercises and I plan on repeating them with my own work for the. rest. of. my. life. I also left with a lot of teaching ideas for my future undergrad photo students.

Anyways, today we were each given a stack of each other’s images and were then instructed to edit and sequence them. This was a really helpful exercise as it gave me a really clear sense of how others view my work. I was really excited to get feedback from Jason as I’m a huge fan of his photobooks. Also, Luke, Kirby, and Robyn attended the workshop and I found it beneficial to have artists in the class that I respect so much.

Side note: the first image above of the prints strewn all over the tables makes me so freakin’ happy.

Such a great weekend! Now, I need a nap.

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

3 thoughts on “Visual Language”

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

