looking assignment

So, every week for the Visual Data course I am taking this semester, we are required to complete a “looking assignment” which consists of looking through this stack of books at school to analyze the use of the Archive, which is the “theme” of our class for the semester. Up until this point I have reported back on books such as Between the Landscape and Its Other, The Champion Pig, and Archive – Belfast to name a few.

This week, I turned away from the stack of books and decided to compile a blog post on the alternative presentation of archive images I’ve noticed recently. Today I wanted to share the work of Maurizio Anzeri which I came across over on ML4U.


[src]


[src]


[src]

Even though I find these images very creepy, the use of the thread/embroidery over the faces of the people in these old portraits is a very interesting interpretation of the photograph as well as use of an OLD photograph. I wonder which archive/source Anzeri used?

In terms of presentation, I love the fact that I was introduced to Anzeri’s work via my Google Reader. Not that books are obsolete, you all know I LOVE BOOKS, but the internet is a great resource to both discover archive images and share them.

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

