Surveyor

Yesterday Megan S. and I stopped by Burchfield Penney Art Center and Albright-Knox Art Gallery before heading over to the Buffalo Small Press Book Fair (I will post more about that later) since I refuse to make the drive out to Buffalo without doing so.

When first entering Albright-Knox, I made a b-line to Sol Lewitt’s Wall Drawing #1268. During my last trip out to Buffalo, I was able to see them (16 artists) working on the wall. According to the project’s blog, “After 54 days of scribbling for 7 hours a day, 16 artists—all paid—worked for a total of 5,026 hours using 1,717 pencil leads to complete this monumental work of art.” Incredible. Definitely check out the blog – all of the photographs of the wall-in-progress are just mind-blowing. The attention to detail is impeccable. Also, if you’re in the WNY area I would highly recommend visiting AKAG and viewing the wall with your own eyes! Do it!

Besides Sol Lewitt’s Wall Drawing #1268, the highlight of my trip was definitely the exhibition Surveyor at Albright-Knox.

I am always impressed with the work in the Sculpture Court. I will never forget when I saw No title (folding table and chairs, beige) by Robert Therrien a couple of years ago.

Yesterday, the Court was home to works by Matthew Ritchie, Zhan Wang, Gary Simmons, and Barnaby Furnas.

Matthew Ritchie
Morning War
Oil and marker on linen
2008

Matthew Ritchie
details of The Holstein Manifesto
Polished aluminum, tar, anodized brass, spent bullet shells, Tarot cards, digital animation, Perspex, mirrored Perspex, and vinyl
2008

Zhan Wang
Details of Urban Landscape Buffalo
Stainless steel pots, pans, and kitchen utensils
2005-2010

Looking at Wang’s work I couldn’t help but think of Lisa Congdon’s A Collection a Day year-long project and resulting book. I mean, how could I not?

Gary Simmons
D.C. Pavillion
Pigment, oil paint, and cold wax on canvas
2007

Barnaby Furnas
Untitled Flood
Urethane on linen
2007

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

2 thoughts on “Surveyor”

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.