third effect

One of the courses I am taking this semester is Visual Data with Matt Walker. This past Thursday was our first day of class and I was introduced to the “Third Effect.”

Basically: Photo 1 + Photo 2 = Third Effect.

Below are some examples from the 3rd effect website.


[src]


[src]


[src]


[src]

When I was at RIT we had plenty of “juxtaposition” exercises where we would go out and shoot a roll of film and then pair the images together to change the meaning and/or find visual similarities. What I’m excited about now is being able to go through the archives of images at VSW and pairing together “foreign” images. Not knowing the original meaning behind an image will change everything. I’m excited to start!

What else does this mean for my semester? I get to read Camera Lucida. Again. Gotta love Barthes.

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

