Skip to content

weekend in Buffalo//crazy awesome film

October 12, 2010

Some title right? Well, it occurred to me this morning that I have yet to post about my weekend in Buffalo, NY or the film screening of The Beast Pageant that I posted about a couple of weeks ago. I took the pictures below with my BlackBerry, so please forgive the image quality. Enjoy!!

—-

I was only able to make it to 4 out of the 6 venues on my list. There were just not enough hours in the day.

First stop was WNYBAC. While I was there I made sure to become a MEMBER!! Support the arts!! I totally geeked out with the volunteer there talking about the equipment available for member use. I’m really excited to make another trip out west to use one of those presses!

I was excited to see Scott McCarney’s work on exhibit. Fun fact: I was a student of Scott’s at RIT. I took his bookbinding course after waiting for two years to get in (it fills up fast) just to end up withdrawing! (scheduling conflict, the class was awesome)

Then, I headed over to CEPA to see Stefan Petranek’s work. Stefan was a graduate student in the MFA program at RIT when I was an undergraduate. I have always LOVED his Book of Acts series, though it was nice to view his Fossils series at CEPA. Lovely.

Burchfield Penny Art Center has to be one of my favorite spaces in all of Western New York. It is a GORGEOUS space. The HUGE sculpture hanging from the ceiling is by artist Dennis Maher and the photographs in the background are by artist Jean-Michel Reed.

Overall, what I did have time to see, Beyond/In Western New York 2010: Alternating Currents exhibited some really great work. Show is up through December 2010 so you have plenty of time to go and see some art! Do it!

The next day I took a walk over to the Dryden Theatre here in Rochester, NY. The Beast Pageant was awesome. I was surprised how FUNNY it was. I cannot wait for it to come out on dvd so I can watch it again AND show it to all of my friends who did not make it to the screening.

After the screening there was a brief artist talk. Jon Moses and Albert Birney are very interesting characters. Their story is equally interesting. Check it out! I love that the film (16mm) was shot with a Bolex since I just used one for the first time a few weeks ago. Very cool little camera.


[src]

I loved the dancing trees and was excited to learn that a soundtrack will be coming out for purchase as well! Yay! “Carry You Home” is my favorite and I love the acoustics in “Deerhead”.

Did you go to the screening? What did you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. stefan petranek permalink
    December 23, 2010 11:42 pm

    Megan,
    Thanks for your plug about my work. Glad you got to see it. It is always enlightening to hear that someone has actually taken the time to go and see my work. So thank you. I’m pretty sure I remember you talking to me about the Book of Acts. Good luck at the Visual Studies Workshop. That is a great little place!

    • December 27, 2010 2:24 pm

      Yes, I loved printing your Book of Acts series on Lambda when I worked at ISL. Lovely prints! VSW is a “great little place” and breath of fresh air after taking a couple of years off after graduating from RIT.

      I try to make a point to keep up with the work of RIT alumni 😉

Trackbacks

  1. my 11 goals for 2011 « Megan Charland
  2. Surveyor « Megan Charland | blog
  3. SCOTT McCARNEY: VisualBooks « Megan Charland | blog

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

