Skip to content

book maquette

September 14, 2010

After 2 weeks of hand-cutting 20 pages for my book maquette, I finally came to a “finished” point early yesterday morning. I have the blisters to prove it too.

I am looking into die-cutting options however I’m not 100% sure I want the book machine-made. There is something about the “one-of-a-kind” hand-cut aesthetic that is appealing. Though, there is an industrial/charrette quality to the book and perhaps the fact that I hand-cut these pages doesn’t even matter.

If I go the die-cutting route I will be able to mass-produce the book. So many decisions…

I am debating if I should add another 10 pages. I love the sculptural quality that the book takes on when the pages build up.

Currently, the book is titled Explosion. I was working with the idea of a “population explosion” however now I don’t think a title is necessary at all. For the final book I might just leave the single house on the cover. It’s hard because I have this impulse to give a book a title. Perhaps it will just be untitled.

In the above image you are seeing the last page on the recto (right) with the build up of the first 19 pages on the verso (left). I used vellum for the flyleaves.

Other specs:
8.5″ x 11″
300 gsm
100% Cotton
Premium Archival Rag
Acid-Free

All images above copyright © 2010 by Megan Charland. All rights reserved.

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

