Skip to content

my viewing “wish list” – part II

July 25, 2010

Happy Monday!

OK, so this may not come to a shock to most of you, but I started this blog post 5 months ago as a continuation of my viewing “wish list.” Ha! 5 months! Honestly, I had every intention of finishing it, and then…well, I got distracted with other projects! This seems to happen quite often. As a result, I have started monthly updates (which I enjoy writing and find to be a nice reflection of time spent the previous month) and today I am starting another regularly scheduled post!

I am constantly looking at art on the internet and wishing I could just jump in my car and go see it in person, so I have decided to make “my viewing ‘wish list'” a weekly post. Nothing too crazy, I’ll share a few artists a week. Let’s say on Mondays. Sound good? Nice way to start off the week.

Coming from someone who blogs at most once a month, this weekly venture might sound a little overzealous, but truth is I need to force myself to do it! Not only for the visual inspiration, but to keep myself in the practice of writing a bit as well.

So, here I go! Enjoy!

1. Lynn Hershman Leeson: OK, so this print may be old but when I was going through Leeson’s website I totally fell for “Reach.” She is currently working on a documentary !Women Art Revolution which is supposed to be completed by Fall 2010. Looking forward to it!

“Reach”
Gelatin sliver print
20″x24″
1988
[src]

2. Crystal Liu: It was hard to pick only one image to share, I enjoy all of Liu’s work! From drawings, to photography, to installation art…you should defintely check out her website! Not only would I want to view her work in person, but I would love to hang “Taking a Drink” on my wall! Or, any of the pieces from her series The Sea.

“Taking a Drink”
Water colour, ink, gouache, and collage on paper
24.5″x24.5″
2008
[src]

3. Liliana Porter: Here is another artist that seems to dable in it all. I found her installation work to be very interesting and would love to see it up close and personal. I seriously LOVE that figurine. Be sure to check out her website. LOTS to see!

“The Traveler”
Framed oil paint, figurine and drawing on wall
Variable
2001
[src]

Well, that’s it for today! Have you seen any of the work above in person? What did you think?

NOTE: All of the images above were screenshots from the sourced websites. If any artists or galleries would like the images removed please do not hesitate to contact me directly (megan@megancharland.com) and I will remove them ASAP. Images are for educational use. Thank you.

No comments yet

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

