Skip to content

what home means to me : ‘pin it forward’

June 9, 2010

Happy Wednesday! Today is my turn to ‘pin it forward.’ Hopefully you are reading this because Leslie, from Vintage Yankee sent you over here and ‘pin it forward’ is working it’s blogging magic.

–>Take a look at my pinboard over on Pinterest to view the images above and more.

What does home mean to me?
I firmly believe in the saying “home is where the heart is.” I moved out of my family home over 5 years ago. Over the last 5 years I have moved every year from apartment to apartment still being able to call each place “home.”

Family
Currently single, my apartment has 3 residents. I share my living space with my cats Ryley and Chloe. I promise I am not a crazy cat lady 😉 I REALLY REALLY REALLY want to add one more to my little family: a Papillon puppy named Coraline. Yes, I have already named her, and yes, she is a her 😉 Besides the fact that my current building has a 2-pet rule, I have no intention on getting a puppy until I know I have the time to train it. That could be a few more years. For now, it’s the 3 of us. Walking into my apartment, it just wouldn’t feel like “home” to me if my floor wasn’t covered in cat toys!

Books
I CANNOT live in a space that doesn’t hold my books. I’m a book person, always have been. I think I would go crazy without them. Not only do I obviously like to read, but a nice bookshelf (or 2 or 3 or 4) really adds that “home” quality for me. Guests can tell a lot about me just by taking a glance at my bookshelves.

Light
Light quality is really important as well. My current apartment has GREAT light for the majority of the day. There is just something so refreshing about it!

Art
I’m an artist. I also collect art. Needless to say a large portion of my decor is art.

Workspace
Currently my workspace is in my apartment. I have a corner that serves as my studio for now. It works. I couldn’t imagine not having a dedicated spot to work.

Sleep Space
OK so right now I don’t exactly have a bed. I’ve been sleeping on this Ikea futon for the last 2 years. Joys of living in a studio apartment. Someday though, maybe after I finish graduate school and have a 1 bedroom apartment I will buy myself a HUGE canopy bed. A girl can dream right? The futon really isn’t that bad. When I’m away from home for the night I always miss my own “bed.”

– – – – – –

Thanks for reading! Now, it is my pleasure to send you over to Emma Lamb where Emma will share what home means to her. I would also like to thank Victoria from sfgirlbybay for coordinating yet another successful blogging collaboration!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 12:36 pm

    hello Megan… 🙂

    aka ‘the crazy cat lady’… 😉 actually i’m quite jealous of you having two cats, ever since my first childhood pet of a wee grey cat called ‘Fluff’ i promised myself i would have lots of cats as an adult… that was until i met my man who is most definitely a dog person! so now, of course, i’m quite the dog person too… one very cheeky english cocker spaniel dog person to be exact… 😉

    thank you so much for handing me the ‘pin it forward’ baton, it has been so lovely reading your post today and i can’t wait to post mine tomorrow!

    wishing you the most fabulous day,
    emma x

  2. June 9, 2010 3:47 pm

    Yep, I agree! Great photos and post!

  3. June 9, 2010 5:02 pm

    Thanks Ladies! @Emma, I am looking forward to your post! @Linda, I enjoyed your post as well!

  4. June 9, 2010 5:08 pm

    @Emma, I hope to one day call myself a “cheeky” dog person as well 😉

  5. June 14, 2010 12:25 pm

    lovely post! and pinboard! thanks so much for contributing!

  6. June 15, 2010 2:59 pm

    Thanks Victoria! It was fun. Thanks again for organizing!

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

