my viewing “wish list” – part I

If you follow me on twitter then it will be no surprise that I am not going to be able to attend PULSE NYC this year as planned. Obviously I am very disapointed, BUT I figure this doesn’t mean I cannot experience the event in some capacity. So, I looked up the PULSE 2010 Exhibiting Artists list on the website and have been browsing for the last few days…. nearly 200 artists!!

Which artists’ work would I LOVE LOVE LOVE to see in person? Here is my “wish list”…

1. Chris Ballantyne: I first came across Ballantyne’s work via 20×200. His pieces “Untitled, Neighborhood (Overgrown)” and “Untitled, Tidal Bore (Surfer)” are for sale in limited edition prints.


“Untitled Fence (and Trail)”
Acrylic on paper
20″x16″
2008
[src]

With my current work I cannot help but be drawn to his piece “Untitled Fence (and Trail)”-love it. Overall I really enjoy the color palette of his work as well as subject matter. You all know I have this obsession with landscapes!

If you are not familiar with Chris Ballantyne you should definitely go check out his website-NOW.

2. Tilo Baumgärtel: I am not familiar with Baumgärtel’s work, but would be interested in seeing it in person. It’s probably because I recently watched the documentary In the Realms of the Unreal, but all I can think about when I see “Untitled” is the work of Henry Darger. I like the lines in this piece.


“Untitled”
drawing
20x42cm
2010
[src]

3. Jim Campbell: There is something about Campbell’s work…I think it is the overall quality of the light that I enjoy so much.


“Powell Street”
768 LEDs, photograph mounted on plexiglas, custom electronics
22.5″ x 29.5″ x 2″
2009
I came across this video on the Hosfelt Gallery website.

You can check out more of Campbell’s work on his website.

4. Priscila De Carvalho: Wow! Really what else is there to say? Check out that color!


“Oil Fields”
Acrylic, Ink, photograph collage, pencil, foam on canvas.
40″ x 90″
2009
[src]

Check out her website, the installations are really interesting as well.

5. Jeremy Dean: Come on! I just want to see this in person AND according to the {CTS} website, “The first true custom hybrid car designed by award-winning Jeremy Dean is set to unveil March 4th, 2010 at Pulse New York art fair.”

“Futurama”
Converted HUMMER H2
2010
I came across this video on the {CTS} website.

6. Katharine Harvey: Wow. Just, WOW. I really love Harvey’s “Waterfall” installation. Actually, I kind of love all of her installation pieces found on her website.


“Waterfall”
Recycled plastic, monofilament
13 x 34 x 4 feet (MacLaren Art Centre, Barrie, Ontario)
2009
[src]

“Waterfall” is actually at the Vancouver Olympics! Nice!
“With the support of Scotiabank Nuit Blanche and the City of Toronto, Katharine Harvey’s Waterfall is on exhibit at Ontario House throughout the 17 days of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, February 12 to 28. Visit Ontario House at the Concord Place Community Celebration Zone at 50 Pacific Boulevard in Vancouver.” -from Katharine Harvey’s website.

7. Shane Hope: The geometry here is great, and I hated math in high school! The colors are nice too. It’s kind of funny how bold colors attract me to other artists’ work, yet my own work is so subtle in color. Hmm, what does that mean? Anyways, you should check out more of Hope’s work here.


“hyperneckerdeathcube”
Archival pigment print
48″ x 48″
2009
[src]

8. Patrick Hughes: I could get lost in this work.


“Beyeler Foundation”
Oil on board construction
26″ x 58″ x 8″
2009
[src]

Get lost yourself, and I mean that in the best possible way! See more of his work here.

OK, so this post is definitely going to be coming to you in 2 parts (it has taken me 2 days to go through artists A-K)… part deux coming soon!!

NOTE: All of the images above were screenshots from the sourced websites. If any artists or galleries would like the images removed please do not hesitate to contact me directly (megan@megancharland.com) and I will remove them ASAP. Images are for educational use. Thank you.

ANOTHER NOTE: I have no clue what work is going to be shown at PULSE, the images above are just examples of the work that I like from that particular artist.

Author: Megan Charland

a visual artist www.megancharland.com

2 thoughts on “my viewing “wish list” – part I”

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

