Adirondack Vintage Postcards

As promised below are scans of the vintage postcards from the Adirondack region I picked up a few months ago.

Ausable Chasm Vintage Postcard
This one is of the Ausable Chasm. I grew up just around the corner from here.

Plattsburgh US Army Barracks Vintage Postcard
This one is of the U.S. Army Barracks in Plattsburgh, NY. My step-father took me here to learn how to drive when I was in high-school.

South Platform at Fort Ticonderoga Vintage Postcard
“The South Platform: A view of the South Platform with some French six pounder bronze cannon and showing the South Barracks used as the Museum Building. In the distance are the Adirondack Mountains.” For the last decade I have been participating in living history events at Fort Ticonderoga with my family.

Fort Ticonderoga Vintage Postcard
Here is another one from Fort Ticonderoga. “The South Wall: This view shows a corner of the South Barracks used as a Museum Building, nine of the Battery of 24 pounder 18th century British cannon and the Southwest Bastion on which are mounted a number of French 18th Century Bronze Cannon.” This postcard was postmarked in Fort Ticonderoga, NY, Aug 4 A.M. 1952 with a 2 Cents stamp.

Blonde Vintage Postcard
OK, so this one isn’t from the Adirondacks, but I found it the same day I came across the 4 above. So, here is my “Blonde Adventures” vintage postcard, and I bought it because, well, I’m blonde and I appreciated it. On the back of the card the date July 1945 is hand written.

Author: Megan Charland

www.megancharland.com

3 thoughts on “Adirondack Vintage Postcards”

  1. Maria Rose: I’m not entirely sure what to do with these just yet, right now they are just little treasures I am holding on to.

    Thomas Pray: I’m not surprised you like the Blonde one!! ha ha ha!!

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

