Skip to content

PAGE ONE and Photo 2.0

December 14, 2011

At the heart of the film is the burning question on the minds of everyone who cares about a rigorous American press, Times lover or not: what will happen if the fast-moving future of media leaves behind the fact-based, original reporting that helps to define our society?

Last night I finally got around to watching PAGE ONE: INSIDE THE NEW YORK TIMES.

I was most interested in the conversation that unfolded focusing on new/social media. David Carr at one point says, “Why talk when you can tweet?”, and I instantly flashed back to the Photo 2.0 — Online Photographic Thinking panel discussion with Andy Adams (moderator), Molly Landreth, Amy Stein and Philip Toledano at the SPE Northeast conference last month at Light Work. I’m just realizing now I never posted about it! Where did this last month go?! Anyways, I’ll get around to it, but in the meantime I would like to point out a moment at the end of the discussion when everyone was packing up and leaving for dinner. I walked up to the podium to introduce myself to Andy Adams and found myself waiting in line. While I was on deck, I was behind a woman who was voicing her disgust regarding the presence of Twitter during the panel discussion. See, before the conversation even started, Andy had invited the audience to participate in the Twitter feed using the hashtag #FlakPhoto and/or mentioning @FlakPhoto. While the four panel participants were discussing Photo 2.0 you could look around the auditorium and see more than half of the room tweeting away on their smart phones and devices. I know I was tweeting and re-tweeting and having even Andy re-tweeting my tweets! That was the point! We’re sharing news and communicating on a global scale in real time.

Speaking of real time, the panel discussion was streaming live! Participants were not limited to those sitting in the auditorium of Light Work, but they really could have been viewing and interacting from anywhere.

The question proposed in the quote above, “what will happen if the fast-moving future of media leaves behind the fact-based, original reporting that helps to define our society?” Why does it have to be one or the other? Something to think about, that’s for sure!

I do not subscribe to The New York Times (printed newspaper or online). Honestly, I don’t see a need to. Considering I currently work for a printed journal, I realize how that statement is pure blasphemy. I follow @nytimes and @nytimesarts (among others) on Twitter. I watch my local news. I feel like I’m getting my fill. What do you think? Do you still buy the paper? Why or why not?

__
photos from the Official Movie Site
caption information: A scene from PAGE ONE: INSIDE THE NEW YORK TIMES, a Magnolia Pictures release. Photo courtesy of Magnolia Pictures.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. papaconquistador permalink
    December 16, 2011 3:05 pm

    I, too, recently watched Page One, and was a bit disappointed in the film. I guess I just had different expectations about the premise.

    I think that the new media revolution isn’t a when, it’s a now. As journalists, it’s our ethical duty to ensure that these new ways of ingesting media stay true to the virtues of journalism. It’s our job to make sure that, as media evolves, we are flexible in delivery, but rigid in objectivity.

    It’s an exciting time to be a journalist for many and bittersweet for some. We have a great foundation laid down for us, but now we get to be pioneers of a different breed. Still, I find it challenging to meld the world of reporting and blogging. And I truly believe that the constant pundit chatter does way more harm than good. Opinion is leaking into content, making it more important than ever to look for news from a variety of media, and do our own fact-checking.

    I don’t have the Times delivered, but I do have my local paper delivered.

Trackbacks

  1. Predicting the Future « Megan Charland | blog
  2. Street Journalism « Megan Charland | blog

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

