Skip to content

“Big Bambú” – Check!

October 19, 2010

Yay!! Saturday my brother and I ventured down to NYC where I was able to cross #14 off of MVWL!!

We stood in line for about 1.5 hours to get our tickets for Doug & Mike Starn’s “Big Bambú: You Can’t, You Don’t, and You Won’t Stop” tour on the roof of The Met. By the time we had tickets in hand we then had to wait 3 hours to head up. All the wait was totally worth it though!!

Bummer was, we had to lock up all of our personal belongings before we could go on the tour, so I wasn’t able to take any pictures from the top. The view was amazing!! I was so tempted to sneak my camera up with me. You’ll have to take my word for it if you haven’t seen it for yourself. All of these pics below are from the roof looking up at “Big Bambú”.

I still cannot believe that the entire structure was held together with climbing rope! This is all I could seem to think about while I was walking up the bamboo paths. Did I mention it was windy on Saturday?! I was gripping to the rails for my life while my brother was not phased the least bit.

The overall structure of “Big Bambú” was wave-like. From inside you could see the wave, vortex, and splash. So awesome.

Once we reached the “top” of our tour we looked down and I could see the Obelisk in Central Park so after we left the museum we took a stroll around the back to see how much of “Big Bambú” we could see from the park. Awesome.

No comments yet

Join the conversation! Leave a reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

